My Psych Patients at the Moment

So work lately has been kind of chill, But then again my standard of “calm” or “chill” is probably much different than most other people. Lets see who I have been working with.

There’s Marco, a 20 year old Hispanic man who functions at the level of a 5 year old, When I informed him that he was going to be staying with us for awhile and that he couldn’t leave he went ballistic, screaming obscenities at me, threatening to hurt me, punching walls. He wakes up every morning and thinks that he is leaving, and once he is told otherwise he goes into a freak-out. Everyday.  Fortunately he can be calmed down pretty quick and then remains calm for the rest of day, until the next morning when he wakes up.

There is Sam, a 20 year old LDS missionary who was serving a two year mission in Argentina and suddenly became psychotic, but is super nice. He believes that a talk by one of the apostles was meant for him and that he is being prepared to be the next Apostle of the Church. He has been diagnosed with Schizophrenia and the saddest part about it is that he had never had any signs of psychosis in his entire life, nor did his family have any history of mental illness.

Then there’s Roxanna, a mother of 3, a petite 30 something year old who is extremely psychotic, delusional and very gamey. She is always asking me random weird questions, jumping up and down, dancing. One night she stayed up the entire night “talking” to us through the window, speaking nonsense. We literally just ignored her. She had spit a wad of flem into each hand and walked around for hours playing with it in her hands.

Then there is Gale, a 40 something year old who has cerebral palsy, is restrained to a wheel chair, never stops talking. I played her in chess and she beat me and she likes to murder animals for fun. When I asked her about it she showed no remorse. Oh and she thinks its November of 1992.

Next is Ryan, who doesn’t talk. He’s in his late 20’s, tall thin, ghastly looking man who functions at the level of a 10 year old. He stares at me for hours and mumbles incoherent nonsense. He can be re-directed but Is very paranoid in that he hears and sees things that aren’t there. The staring really does get creepy.

Next is Steve, a man that will be forever institutionalized. He’s in his late 40’s, believes he is a millionaire, sits in his bed talking to the voices for hours on end. He told me that he wanted to marry me and that we could go to Hawaii together. He was genuinely disappointed when I said I had a “boyfriend”.

Then there Is “Haley” who is actually a man, but he had a sex change so he is now a she. Haley is Borderline and is “suicidal” but most of it is just for attention. She has tons of scars from cutting up and down her arms and is very quiet. When I asked her about being suicidal she said would do it if she could find a way but just cant find an accessible way. When she told she was trying to hold back a smile. Later I found her in her room with a blanket draped around her neck. I just told her to go to bed. She just wanted the attention and once I gave it to her she was fine.

And last but not least there is Tim, a guy in his early 20’s, when you first see him you would never imagine he would be psychotic. But he is, very psychotic and paranoid. He talks non-stop asking me questions, threatening to sue ( which is very common) us, demanding to be let go ( also very common). He believes he is perfectly fine, yet is very delusional. This is common among patients with Bi-Polar.

There are a few more that I have right now, I just can’t think of them right now. But yeah these are the patients that I have had for the past few shifts. The next time I go in some of them will be gone and some will still be there. So yeah a pretty chill group for the most part.

2 thoughts on “My Psych Patients at the Moment

  1. I can barely imagine how your work must me. I used to do some charity stuff at school and went to homes with “special people” but it was mostly to entertain them. You know, play games, read to them… nothing serious as what you do. It’s strange for me to read that you ignore some patients. Don’t judge me wrong, I know that’s the right thing to do when you are all professional, thing is that I am no professional, not yet, so I have this “bad” habit of getting touched by anyone with whatever story. Was it difficult for you to learn how to grow and distinguish those boundaries where you get to know when to ignore someone just because they want your attention? I mean, must be an exhausting process that one of tryning to be a tough person and not crumble against every little thing concerning your patients.

    By the way, hope you don’t mind, but I just made a little review about your blog in mine. http://blizzarddreams.wordpress.com/
    Hope you like it.

    • Kat,
      I read your blog, thank you so much for your comments. It REALLY means so much to me that someone appreciates my stories and my feelings about my job. I really do care so much for these people and their experiences inspire me so much. I only hope to spread their inspiration to others. My hope is that they can be better understood. To answer your question, yes it took a long time for me to learn how to put up boundaries, to know when to give and when to hold back. It is a skill I had to learn to be able to read people well enough to know when they are doing something for attention and when they are really in need of attention and help. I have learned so much! I would encourage everyone to have these experiences at least once in their life. I have never been so humbled. And also it Is possible to still feel, you just have to choose who you “feel” with and who you don’t. Thankyou so much for your post. I Wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

