Dissociative Identity Disorder

“Hi’ my name is Satan, what’s your name?” This is how I met this patient. I was told that I would be standing at her door and my one and only goal was to not allow her out of her room. I walked up and saw her standing at the doorway. Her hair disheveled, I could tell she had probably been wearing the same gown for days. Her room smelled of urine. She had only a gown on and nothing under it. She was in her early 50’s and from what I had been told in report she had been institutionalized for over 15 years. The reason she was with us was because the place she was at couldn’t handle her anymore. We were supposed to get her medications worked out. When it was my turn to take post,  I stood in front of her  and she looked at me , her eyes got wide and she said ” Hi, nice to meet you, I’m Satan.” I just stared. Then she looked at me with hate with her eyes and said , ” You’re a b***!!!” Then my co-worker looked at me and said, ” Alright well goodluck” and left. I stood there at the doorway with this patient for a few days in a row. She suffered with Dissociative Identity Disorder, the only patient we have ever had with it that severely. Sometimes she was Satan, others time Medusa, other times she was someone nice Beverly. But the majority of the time she was Satan. She would talk about religious things and political things. She would always scream at me and accuse me of sleeping with the governors daughter, cheating with her husband ( who she didn’t have) she had never married. She would become irate and start hitting herself on the head with her own hand, extremely hard! She would sometimes grab both of my arms and push me down the hallway all the while twisting my arms to hurt me. Someone would always intervene and help me if I couldn’t get away. One time she swung at me and I ducked and she barely missed me. The worst and most disturbing of what she would do is stand in her doorway and masturbate in front of you while screaming at the top of her lungs F*** Me!! Then she would urinate herself and stay in this clothes for days. She was frightening, actually frightening and this was when I seriously considered that there was something evil inside of her, something had taken over her. But I guess I will never know for sure will I?

3 thoughts on “Dissociative Identity Disorder

  1. It sounds like there are elements of schizophrenia in her disorder. Funny little world we live in. If she says she is Satan then she has Dissociative Identity Disorder but if I say I am Christ I am diagnosed with Schizophrenia. Funny little world indeed.

  2. Reblogged this on Michael's Wingman and commented:
    It sounds like there are elements of schizophrenia in her disorder. Funny little world we live in. If she says she is Satan then she has Dissociative Identity Disorder but if I say I am Christ I am diagnosed with Schizophrenia. Funny little world indeed.

Leave a Reply

